Five Provisions in Islam FARD(compulsory) SUNNAH(recommended) HALAL(permissible) MAKRUH(disliked) HARAM(forbidden)


Five “Provisions” in Islam for a Muslim.

  1. Compulsory (Fard)

  2. Recommended (Sunnah)

  3. Permissible (Halal)

  4. Disliked (Makruh)

  5. Forbidden (Haram)

1.Compulsory (Fard):

Fard is an Arabic Word for “Compulsory”. There are two types of Fard for Muslims

1.1 Fard al-Ayn: These Fards are Compulsory for Each And Every Muslim No Muslim Will Be Excepted if another Muslim Performed that Duty. And This Fard al-Ayn are Praying 5 Times a Day, Fasting in the Month of Ramadan, Giving Charity, Hajj, 5 daily prayer and shahada( belief in the oneness of Allah) .

1.2Fard al-Kifaya: This Fard is Not Compulsory for All Muslims if Some Muslims Performed That Then Others Are Except From That and if No One Performed That Fard then The Whole Community will be Responsible. Like Performing a Prayer When Muslim Dies (Janaza Prayer)

2. Recommended (Sunnah)

Sunnah in Arabic Means “Recommended”. Sunnah Means the Traditions And The Practices of Our Beloved Prophet Muhammed SAW (Peace Be Upon Him). This Sunnah’s are Not Recorded In Quran but this are recorded in other Islamic Books by the Scholars who Has Seen Prophet Muhammed.

There are three types of Sunnah:

2.1 Sunnah Qawliyyah: This are the Sunnah’s Which Prophet Muhammed has told And this are Recorded by Prophet Muhammed’s Companion or Scholars. Now Days this Recorded Sunnah’s are also Called as “Hadiths”.

2.2 Sunnah al Fiiliyyah: This Sunnah’s are the Actions which are Noticed and Recorded and Followed By Prophet Mohammed’s Companion And Scholars This Actions Are For Both Religiously and Worldly Actions. Like How to Pray, What to Wear How to live etc.

2.3 Sunnah Taqririyyah: This Are the Sunnah’s Which Prophet Muhammed Conveyed by Actions to His Companion Like-

When Prophet Muhammed’s Companion done something and Prophet Muhammed Kept Silent on that and did not opposed to it.

And When The Prophet Muhammed Smiled on the Action of His Companion.

So these Sunnah’s are Noticed and Recorded by the Companion and Scholars. Muslims Believed That the Prophet Muhammed’s SAW (PBUH) Life is The Best Example for a Muslim to be followed which Lead Him to the Heaven.

3. Permissible (Halal)

In Arabic Halal Means “Permissible” Under Islamic Laws. Halal is Applicable for Food, Drinks and Matters of daily Life. A Muslim Have to Eat Halal Food. In Case of Meat- the Animal Should be slaughtered In Islamic Way by Saying Bismillah (In The Name of Allah) or By Reciting Any Versus of Quran. And the Animal Should Be slaughtered by sharp Knife, His Blood Should Be Drained through Veins etc.

A Muslim should not drink Intoxicants Like Alcoholic Beverages.

A Muslim Don’t Have to Stole Anything, He Have to pay the right Price for What He is purchasing and Availing the Services No Fraud Is Allowed.

You Can Read Our Complete Post On Halal, Click Here/Read More.

4. Disliked (Makruh)

In Arabic Makruh Means Disliked. In Islam, Muslims Have to keep them self Away From Makruh, as These are the Offensive Acts Which Leads towards Sins. There are types of Acts Which are Considered as Makruh like If any Muslim is Wasting a lot of Water for Ablution (Abulation Means- Muslims Use to Wash Their Face Before Prayer) Then It is Makruh. Divorce is also Considered under Makruh in Islam. Speaking Lie Or Untruthfulness is Makruh. Food Which is Spoiled Or Rotten is Makruh Even After That Food Was Halal.

5. Forbidden (Haram)

Haram is the word for “Forbidden” in Arabic. Haram Means Forbidden under Islamic Laws. Haram Is Applicable for Food, Drinks, and Matters of Daily Life.

No Food Is Allowed To Eat which is Stolen or Taken By Force or By Without Permission to Any Muslim.

Muslim Cannot Eat Animal Who is Not Slaughtered as Per Islamic Procedure, Muslims Cannot Eat that Animal if it was slaughtered by any Non-Muslim it Will be Haram.

Muslims Are Not Allowed to Drink Intoxicants Like Alcoholic Beverages.

Muslims are not allowed to eat Pork, Murder, Theft, and Beating Women disrespecting Islamic Laws all are considered as Haram.

Haram is all Those Things Which are not discussed or not allowed by Quran or The Sunnah’s.

As Per Islamic Believes Their will be a very Hard Punishment For the Persons who is doing Haram on the day of Judgement.


Please mail us if there is any updates/correction.